Happy New Year! Of Light and Darkness is a Decadent title!

Hey guys! HAPPY NEW YEAR to everyone! 2010 was one of the best years of my life! I was lucky enough to see my first original work play out on the big, silver screen! I laughed. I cried. I pulled all of my hair out. I cried some more…and then I remembered how thankful I was for everything in my life, and laughed again. I hope you all had an amazing year as well and I wish all of you many new blessings for 2011. I feel it. It’s going to be a good one! 😉

My new year has already started off with a bang! I am so excited to announce Of Light and Darkness has been acquired by Decadent Publishing and I could not be more thrilled! It has been a long road of about five years total that it has taken me to write, edit and seek publishing for my debut novel. I really hope that you’ll read and enjoy it. I’m a HUGE advocate for independent film, music and now books. I always have been. I think there really is something special about the smaller, more intimate projects. The big guys are great, but once in a while you find those gems when sifting through the obscure. Everyone works so closely with each other and there’s just something really endearing about “grass-rooting” your project. So I really hope that if anyone is reading this, you pass the word along and give independently produced projects as much of a chance as the major ones. 🙂 Because good things can be found anywhere.

Okay, I am getting off of my soap box now. 🙂 Hehe…

So I hope you’ll follow Of Light and Darkness as it begins on its journey to your book shelves at home. There’s going to be a lot of different, exciting things that will hopefully begin happening now. So, if you aren’t sick of Vampires (don’t be…because mine are awesome!) and if you love dark fantasy, shape-shifters, magic, evil, and a good adventure that takes place in an ancient city that actually exists…I hope you’ll get excited about this!

Also, I received some fan questions today in my facebook inbox…and as requested by her, I’m answering them here. 😉 These questions are from Jerilyn. So here goes:

1. know you enjoy singing and stuff.
Is it actually hard to maintain acting, singing, planning and keeping up with everything at once?

Normally, I have to be honest and say that it is not so difficult. I know it seems like I’m doing a lot at once, but normally my projects tend to lead me in only one direction at a time. For instance, right now I am working on a few writing projects. The first being Of Light and Darkness as well as a few scripts, such as a retelling of the classic Phantom of the Opera called, Masque. I’m sure after I finish up a few of these projects, I’ll get called off to focus on something else. 🙂 It’s all about finding a balance, and since I am very passionate about everything I do, that comes very easily to me. I tend to focus on one piece of a project at a given time, and when I feel that I can move on to something else, I do. Eventually it all get’s accomplished.

2. Have you become more popular since The Incubus?

The Incubus has definitely helped me in so many ways. It was a great project (that is still on-going…I have a few surprises for Incubus fans up my sleeve 😉 ) and continues to be the gift that keeps on giving. I’ll go back to what I said earlier about independent projects. The Incubus was very much and independent project that we grass-rooted the whole way. Yet I am so blessed to see that the wonderful team of people working on it have made it so successful. It’s helped a lot of us and I’ll never stop being thankful for that. 🙂 As far as the surprise goes…you’ll all just have to wait and see….

Cheers!

Shayne

About Shayne Leighton

I'm a YA author, actress, singer, and all around lover of the arts. View all posts by Shayne Leighton

Leave a Reply

